About Us

Broadband for America is dedicated to protecting a free and open internet for all Americans. We support and promote bipartisan policies that align with the core principles of an open internet, including no blocking, no throttling, and no anticompetitive paid prioritization. Broadband for America believes that smart and modern broadband policies led by Congress that promote innovation and protect consumers are central to our country’s economic prosperity.

Honorary Chairman – Harold E. Ford, Jr

Harold served five terms in the U.S. Congress representing the 9th district of Tennessee.  First elected in 1996, Harold served on the House Financial Services, Budget and Education Committees while in Congress.  In addition, Harold was a member and leader of the Blue Dog Democrats in Congress, and was active with the Democratic Leadership Council.

Currently, Harold is the Honorary Chairman of Broadband for America, a coalition whose members include independent consumer advocacy groups, to content and application providers, to the companies which build and maintain the Internet.

Harold teaches part-time at NYU’s Wagner School of Public Service, and is a frequent contributor to NBC News.  He is a board member at Lincoln Center, the Posse Foundation, Weill Cornell Medical College and America’s Promise.  Harold is also an overseer at the International Rescue Committee and a member of the Council on Foreign Relations.

Harold earned a B.A. from the University of Pennsylvania and a law degree from the University of Michigan.

Harold, his wife, Emily, and their children live in New York City.

BFA Members

Since its launch in September 2009, the Broadband for America coalition has included members ranging from consumer groups, to content and application providers, to the companies that build and maintain the internet. Together these organizations represent the hundreds of millions of Americans who are literally connected through broadband. Broadband for America members include AT&T, CenturyLink, Charter, CTIA – The Wireless Association, Comcast, NCTA – The Internet & Television Association, Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA), and USTelecom Association.